Tracks - Making your own tracks with the editor

Here you can post track-related information.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

User avatar
JimMiE22o2
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:45 pm
Location: Indiana, United States
Contact:

Post by JimMiE22o2 » Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:48 am

ok, i am making a track but my start point us upside down.
I added the line "StartDirection 180" like you said but it doesn't move!!!

P.S. how do you get "google" to download your images???
Few people find what they wish to see.
Life is only to die, get over it.

dby
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:02 pm
Contact:

Post by dby » Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:24 pm

A different starting direction doesn't show in the editor, only when racing. Maybe that's the problem??

User avatar
JimMiE22o2
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:45 pm
Location: Indiana, United States
Contact:

Post by JimMiE22o2 » Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:15 pm

Ok, I only looked on the editor...
Few people find what they wish to see.
Life is only to die, get over it.

JUHA
Community User Level: 1
Community User Level: 1
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 12:57 pm
Location: Suomi - Finland
Contact:

Post by JUHA » Fri Apr 08, 2005 12:42 pm

JimMiE22o2 wrote:Ok, I only looked on the editor...

yeah when i did it, i was thinking this same thing :P
JUHA - F1!!! Räikkönen & Kovalainen!

User avatar
fasteddie399
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 1:53 am
Location: Connecticut, USA

Post by fasteddie399 » Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:34 pm

is it just me, or do more people need to read this entire thread? Lots of new tracks lately, and it's obvious many of the track makers have not read this thread...

:?

Vardy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Vardy » Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:20 pm

I've been trying to figure something out, but I'm not very good with coding, so here it goes:

I've been working on a track remake, and drawed the road in photoshop. After that, I inserted it on the track as a tile by modifying the .trk file. The problem is this new tile needs to have road properties, but instead it is only an image. When we actually drive on it it's as if we are driving on the terrain below. So, I see two solutions: fill it up with road tiles in the underneath or create a tiles.til file and add my track tile with road properties to it... Althoug, I don't know if that's possible.

If anyone could survive my crappy english to the end, is there a way of doing the second solution?

dby
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 9:02 pm
Contact:

Post by dby » Tue Jul 26, 2005 11:07 pm


Vardy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:11 pm
Contact:

Post by Vardy » Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:40 am

Thx a lot... Just worked out the second solution! =D

DisableDan

Tile Creation and -pat indexing

Post by DisableDan » Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:29 pm

I have begun creating my own logo tiles etc to use in turbo sliders editor
i am currently also documenting the procedure as best i can step by step.

If any one is having difficulty creating tile or indexign the -pat file
this page may help, however it is not yet complete.

a new section will be added every day until it is hopefully a complete tutorial on tile creation

to see the progress go to my page which is
......................http://spaces.msn.com/members/DansTSpage/............
copy this address and paste it in your browser.

or any questions i will be glad to try and help.
but keep in mind i am new to this also

Guest

Post by Guest » Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:32 pm

Yea, I have been wondering how to make tiles :wink:

Mario
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:35 am
Contact:

Post by Mario » Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:24 pm

I've build a track. The track is a circle! :D . But it's fun to drive on it.

Download this 2 images to get the track

http://www.fileuploadx.de/4315

http://www.fileuploadx.de/107398

Thanks

User avatar
dede
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 3314
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Milan (Italy)
Contact:

Post by dede » Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:43 pm

You can upload your tracks to our tracks db, also:

http://www.turbosliders.com/upload_track.php

Cya

Newtonk
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:13 pm

Re: Tracks - Making your own tracks with the editor

Post by Newtonk » Sat Feb 20, 2010 11:26 pm

Hi guys,i made a track

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Re: Tracks - Making your own tracks with the editor

Post by Whiplash » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:06 am

Newtonk wrote:Hi guys,i made a track
So?
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

Re: Tracks - Making your own tracks with the editor

Post by Pingu » Sun Feb 21, 2010 9:40 am

Whiplash wrote:
Newtonk wrote:Hi guys,i made a track
So?
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Dude don't hate on the new peoples, you also did that to me when i came to sliders. Just ask him about the track, he signed up to just post this :P

User avatar
dede
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 3314
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Milan (Italy)
Contact:

Re: Tracks - Making your own tracks with the editor

Post by dede » Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:40 am

Newtonk wrote:Hi guys,i made a track
Welcome, in order to upload tracks to our tracks db you have to associate your player profile to your ts forum account. You did request to associate Neptune, but that's not you. So please upload your players.da2 file and select your player. After that, you will be able to upload tracks :)

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Re: Tracks - Making your own tracks with the editor

Post by Whiplash » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:05 pm

Pingu wrote:Dude don't hate on the new peoples, you also did that to me when i came to sliders.
Dude, why you always trying scrambled the whole meaning of my sentences? I began to believe that you have something personal against me. :? :P

Sic
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:15 am

Post by Sic » Sun Aug 15, 2010 6:09 am

Could somebody post some tile-packs here, i only have couple extra tiles. I would like to have tiles for city-tracks (Big houses etc.)

User avatar
iBlaze²
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 411
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:42 pm
Location: England

Post by iBlaze² » Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:03 pm

Hi Sic. There are some tile packs at Sliderpoint which might come in useful for you. I believe I used a lot of those tiles when creating iB_Nordschleife! so here you can see what those tiles look like in a track.

Just a bit of advice, I suggest you use custom tiles sparingly as they can increase download and loading time quite a lot in game, so just be careful how many of them you use. Again, try loading iB_Nordschleife! and you'll see what I mean.

Good luck with your new tracks!

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Post by Whiplash » Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:11 pm

Sic wrote:I would like to have tiles for city-tracks (Big houses etc.)
Some track makers already asked for this before. It's hard to make big houses (skyscrapers etc.) because of bad view that we have driving close and behind of them. That's why we still don't have city tracks.

Kuukkeli
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:06 am

Post by Kuukkeli » Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:04 pm

Hey guys.

I made track with hg's racing tiles and car tiles. I got made track, in editor everything looks fine but in game... these tiles are invisible, they are there but can't see them in game. What went wrong?

Tijny
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Tijny » Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:18 pm

That's because custom tile definitions aren't saved. After saving a track in the editor, you have to open the .trk file in notepad (or something) again and add the same lines that you added before.

Kuukkeli
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:06 am

Post by Kuukkeli » Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:48 am

Thanks, now i got that problem solved... But i have now another, with checkpoints and starting grid...

I put starting grid and checkpoints at normally in editor, but when i go to game and try, game says that records maybe doesn't work and when track is loaded, car is starting at left top edge, where starting grid even isn't. What's wrong with that? :/

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Post by Whiplash » Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:17 am

Kuukkeli wrote:...game says that records maybe doesn't work...
Hmm, I'm not sure what could be the problem.
Kuukkeli wrote:car is starting at left top edge, where starting grid even isn't. What's wrong with that? :/
Well, when you're making checkpoints, you need to be sure that you made first checkpoint (starting grid) correctly. So, don't make another checkpoints until you make that one correctly. You know, every checkpoint is made by 2 clicks. So you have to be careful there. Try to make 2 clicks on the same distance from different sides of track. I know, that's the biggest problem of the editor I think. But, if you're careful, It can be done easy. Also, if you want to turn starting grid to another side or angle, it can be done only manually in the trk. file.

Kuukkeli
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 11:06 am

Post by Kuukkeli » Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:22 am

And if you could read a bit sharper, i mean that checkpoint doesn't save when i've made them...

Post Reply