Rotating objects?

Here you can post track-related information.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
Janne
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 6:40 pm
Location: Finland

Rotating objects?

Post by Janne » Fri Aug 25, 2006 10:50 am

How you can rotate walls and other "cannot rotate" stuff?

User avatar
Hengari
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Capital City
Contact:

Re: Rotating objects?

Post by Hengari » Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:08 am

JTS wrote:How you can rotate walls and other "cannot rotate" stuff?
Oh man, people should learn to read :) It stands clearly in my track design guide that you can rotate tiles when starting the editor with "-ar 1" parameter. After this you can rotate all tiles but not bridges diagonally (which is bad).
oldschool slider <3 | Hengari @ Quakenet/IRCnet
sliderpoint

Janne
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 6:40 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Janne » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:21 pm

Thanks for info. I tried to search from here already.

User avatar
-wolf-
Community User Level: 4
Community User Level: 4
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Contact:

Post by -wolf- » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:07 pm

hey cool! I didnt know about that! I also dont understand why ande made some tiles be un-rotated? :?
Image
Image

User avatar
Hengari
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Capital City
Contact:

Post by Hengari » Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:14 pm

Slider wrote:hey cool! I didnt know about that! I also dont understand why ande made some tiles be un-rotated? :?
Because the pre-calculated shadows. If you rotate the tiles the shadows are in wrong place if you're not careful about that.
oldschool slider <3 | Hengari @ Quakenet/IRCnet
sliderpoint

User avatar
-wolf-
Community User Level: 4
Community User Level: 4
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Contact:

Post by -wolf- » Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:42 pm

so if i use this short command everything about the shadows will be mesed up? :?
Image
Image

User avatar
Hengari
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Capital City
Contact:

Post by Hengari » Fri Aug 25, 2006 7:19 pm

Slider wrote:so if i use this short command everything about the shadows will be mesed up? :?
No, they will rotate with the tiles ofcourse but if you rotate them, they are not "right" (in wrong angle).
oldschool slider <3 | Hengari @ Quakenet/IRCnet
sliderpoint

User avatar
Anddru
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:58 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Anddru » Sat Aug 26, 2006 10:00 am

When i rotate my iteams other than 0, 45, 90 and so on, i go to the .trk file and edit, but it takes very long time (and hard to make nice), is there any way to make it 'easy'?
In my new website you can find my tracks and cars!
http://druerne.org/ts

Hope you will enjoy!

User avatar
Hengari
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Capital City
Contact:

Post by Hengari » Sat Aug 26, 2006 10:11 am

Anddru wrote:When i rotate my iteams other than 0, 45, 90 and so on, i go to the .trk file and edit, but it takes very long time (and hard to make nice), is there any way to make it 'easy'?
When rotating tiles, just press shift +arrows for a little less rotation and ctrl+arrows for 1° rotation.
oldschool slider <3 | Hengari @ Quakenet/IRCnet
sliderpoint

User avatar
Anddru
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 144
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:58 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Anddru » Sat Aug 26, 2006 3:31 pm

Hengari wrote:
Anddru wrote:When i rotate my iteams other than 0, 45, 90 and so on, i go to the .trk file and edit, but it takes very long time (and hard to make nice), is there any way to make it 'easy'?
When rotating tiles, just press shift +arrows for a little less rotation and ctrl+arrows for 1° rotation.
THANKS :D
In my new website you can find my tracks and cars!
http://druerne.org/ts

Hope you will enjoy!

Jeffrey
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 432
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:57 pm
Location: Malta (Gozo)
Contact:

Estoril F1 Track

Post by Jeffrey » Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:56 pm

I think its better to leave this thread just for new tracks :)


EDIT by Mouse - I have removed this as asked by Jeffrey. I have made an edit so those who responded to the post do not look like fools (responding to a post that is not there).

Tijny
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Estoril F1 Track

Post by Tijny » Fri Sep 01, 2006 2:09 pm

Jeffrey wrote:I think its better to leave this thread just for new tracks :)
How so, why not just in the "Post your tracks here" topic?
Edit: that track looks nice btw :)

User avatar
Hengari
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Capital City
Contact:

Re: Estoril F1 Track

Post by Hengari » Fri Sep 01, 2006 2:17 pm

Tijny wrote:
Jeffrey wrote:I think its better to leave this thread just for new tracks :)
Edit: that track looks nice btw :)
Track looks ok, but those diagonal start/finish lines are very bad. Never know which corner is the closest one.
oldschool slider <3 | Hengari @ Quakenet/IRCnet
sliderpoint

Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Sep 01, 2006 3:21 pm

How do u get a Diaginal start it would be verry helpfull for me

User avatar
-wolf-
Community User Level: 4
Community User Level: 4
Posts: 614
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Contact:

Post by -wolf- » Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:29 pm

Type startdirection <ur angle u need> in the trk file. right above checkpoints x line.
Image
Image

User avatar
Mouse
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1358
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 1:56 am
Location: New York

Post by Mouse » Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:20 pm

hmmmm :)

If you type "startdirection" i do not think it will work. "StartDirection" is what must be typed. Some track-maker newbies would come to a problem if they did not know this.
Image

User avatar
Hengari
Community User Level: 3
Community User Level: 3
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:14 pm
Location: Capital City
Contact:

Post by Hengari » Fri Sep 01, 2006 11:13 pm

Diagonal startdirection is bad. In tight race you might lose even if you come to the finish line first because actually the line is not there where you think it is.
oldschool slider <3 | Hengari @ Quakenet/IRCnet
sliderpoint

User avatar
Mouse
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1358
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 1:56 am
Location: New York

Post by Mouse » Sat Sep 02, 2006 12:45 am

Hengari wrote:Diagonal startdirection is bad. In tight race you might lose even if you come to the finish line first because actually the line is not there where you think it is.
Good point. As you can see in this picture i made, if you drive on the top of the track you will finish faster that if you were to drive on the bottom. If 2 cars were side by side, the one on the top would finish first.

Image
Image

User avatar
Augusto
Community User Level: 1
Community User Level: 1
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:44 pm
Location: Argentina

Post by Augusto » Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:39 pm

Good point. As you can see in this picture i made, if you drive on the top of the track you will finish faster that if you were to drive on the bottom. If 2 cars were side by side, the one on the top would finish first.
is there any way to fix it?? can i place the starting line at 45 degrees??

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:10 pm

-wolf- wrote:Type startdirection <ur angle u need> in the trk file. right above checkpoints x line.
;)

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Post by Whiplash » Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:03 am

Augusto wrote: is there any way to fix it?? can i place the starting line at 45 degrees??
Sure, you have such track in "pu-tracks" folder. It's called Pu_Sahara. You will not see the 45 degree line in the editor, but it will work correct in the race.

User avatar
Augusto
Community User Level: 1
Community User Level: 1
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:44 pm
Location: Argentina

Post by Augusto » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:06 pm

Sure, you have such track in "pu-tracks" folder. It's called Pu_Sahara. You will not see the 45 degree line in the editor, but it will work correct in the race.


Thanks.. but it was easier and faster to rotate the track :P

Post Reply