How to make a vid of turbosliders

Discussion related to Turbo Sliders and beta version feedback.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

How to make a vid of turbosliders

Post by Pingu » Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:50 pm

Hey all,

Since i cant find a topic for generel questions i make a new one.

I want to make a Turbo Sliders video with all kinda epic moments, but Fraps doenst detect Turbo Sliders... so what program do i need to use to record turbosliders?

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 5:02 pm

lol yeah, Ive tried fraps, hypercam and camstudio and none of them work :( Im currently trying camstasia :) I will get back to you. (Im in the process of making the highlights video for the F1 league races).

I was literally just about to post this on the forum :o

User avatar
dede
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 3314
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Milan (Italy)
Contact:

Post by dede » Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:21 pm

I used camtasia as well when I made that pb video. It's very good :P

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:23 pm

Its very nice on frames, but cars still flicker and bad frame rate when I turn on TS (not in game while Im playing, but the recording has a bad fram rate).

User avatar
dede
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 3314
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:29 am
Location: Milan (Italy)
Contact:

Post by dede » Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:38 pm

You can change frame rate if i remember correctly.

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 6:45 pm

dede wrote:You can change frame rate if i remember correctly.

Yeah yeah, by a bad fps I mean like 3/4 fps, changing it makes no difference.

User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

Post by Pingu » Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:15 pm

I have camtasia but isnt that to record things like windows demonstrations? Or does it also work during games then :p. I will try later

Edit: With camtasia i also get a verylow FPS.... like shyguy says.

And with fraps on pro evolution soccer i get an easy 30 fps while that game takes alot more from my computer...

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:13 am

Pingu wrote:I have camtasia but isnt that to record things like windows demonstrations? Or does it also work during games then :p. I will try later

Edit: With camtasia i also get a verylow FPS.... like shyguy says.

And with fraps on pro evolution soccer i get an easy 30 fps while that game takes alot more from my computer...


Yeah I only get these problems with TS too...perhaps its an internal setting?

tkdandy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:07 pm
Contact:

Post by tkdandy » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:09 pm

I've managed to create videos using Fraps - but found that it would only capture if DirectX was chosen as display setting when replaying the game recording.

My own videos were captured at 640x480 resolution -example http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdq54bydfnQ

Hope this helps!

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Post by Whiplash » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:23 pm

tkdandy wrote:I've managed to create videos using Fraps - but found that it would only capture if DirectX was chosen as display setting when replaying the game recording.

My own videos were captured at 640x480 resolution -example http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdq54bydfnQ

Hope this helps!

Man, these races looks prety realistic. I like off-track objects too.

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:56 pm

tkdandy wrote:I've managed to create videos using Fraps - but found that it would only capture if DirectX was chosen as display setting when replaying the game recording.

My own videos were captured at 640x480 resolution -example http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdq54bydfnQ

Hope this helps!


Hmmm, I dont get the car flickering or anything now, but still puts the game into slow motion...as if you were watching it using the slow down setting on the recording but you arent, even if you go on fast forward it is too slow.

User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

Post by Pingu » Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:47 pm

Ok thnx it works now with fraps :wink: I hope i get the FPS right

Edit: If i put turbosliders any different then SDL it wont work well (uber slomo or colors messed up):x ... i can put sdl directdraw or opengl... only with opengl or directdraw fraps find turbosliders but then the games doesnt work properly. :shock:

tkdandy
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 1:07 pm
Contact:

Post by tkdandy » Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:13 am

Are you trying to use Fraps to record the game as you play it? If so I definitely wouldn't recommend it! Fraps will massively impact the performance of the game...

What I did..
  • Play the game as normal -ie with top resolution/settings
  • Use Fraps to record the Recording. In other words, change video settings to DirectX and 640x480 then use Fraps when you are watching the race replay.


Hope this helps!

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:13 pm

tkdandy wrote:Are you trying to use Fraps to record the game as you play it? If so I definitely wouldn't recommend it! Fraps will massively impact the performance of the game...

What I did..
  • Play the game as normal -ie with top resolution/settings
  • Use Fraps to record the Recording. In other words, change video settings to DirectX and 640x480 then use Fraps when you are watching the race replay.

Hope this helps!


I am recording a replay, yes :wink:

User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

Post by Pingu » Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:03 pm

Dang i still got troubles with it.. :cry: :oops:

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 3:50 pm

Anybody found a solution to this yet? I am really keen on doing a highlights series for the F1 league..

Tijny
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Tijny » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:10 pm

I tried this and I'm able to record videos with Fraps with no problems at all as long as I lower my resolution and change the video mode to DirectX. If that doesn't work, I guess your only hope is to use the -capture command line parameter (like I mentioned in the F1 league topic) - this stalls the game until the screenshot is saved so bad FPS is not an issue. I just don't know how to feed that output into a video editing program, but I heard it is possible.

User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

Post by Pingu » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:13 pm

Yeah the problem for me is.. Turbosliders doesn't work with Directx, then i get all kinda weird colors, if it did i Woulda made lots of Turboslider vids :P But i gave up after I made this topic xD

User avatar
Lanz
Community User Level: 4
Community User Level: 4
Posts: 821
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:27 pm
Location: Innichen, Italy

Post by Lanz » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:21 pm

tkdandy wrote:I've managed to create videos using Fraps - but found that it would only capture if DirectX was chosen as display setting when replaying the game recording.

My own videos were captured at 640x480 resolution -example http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdq54bydfnQ

Hope this helps!


awesome sound! :D

User avatar
Pingu
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: NETHERLANDS

Post by Pingu » Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:11 pm

Finally on my new pc I'am able to record lagless 60 fps full quality vids. The only problem is. When I play Turbosliders on this pc it is very dark? Is there a way to change the brightness in turbosliders? It looks like every track is played when the sun is down...

User avatar
Mike Nike
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1131
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 3:11 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Mike Nike » Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:26 am

did you put the lightmap off?

lol this sounds like "did you try turning it off and on again?"

Post Reply