4000 x 4000

Discussion related to Turbo Sliders and beta version feedback.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

4000 x 4000

Post by shyguy1001 » Sat Feb 05, 2011 11:54 pm

MaxTrackSize <n> - Maximum track size, minimum and default is 2000
and maximum is 4000. Note that increasing the size from
the default 2000 may seriously affect memory consumption and
loading times.


Can someone explain this to me? And why hasn't it been done? Is it impractical or is it simply because it requires total modifications of the game to do it? F1 tracks are constantly having to be packed into the 2000x2000 space, it would be nice to know the reason for why it hasn't been expanded to 4000x4000, as I am sure if it could be done practically it would of, at least for F1 races.

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Post by Whiplash » Sun Feb 06, 2011 12:42 am

Yep, the reason is that we would have to make MOD for that. 4000x4000 is not allowed in the released version because loading of that kind of track is much slower. Game developer wanted to get smoother product I guess.
Dede said few times that using a MOD could split the community to different sides. It's much better to have the game which works like: install and play. Otherwise It would be: install the game, find the desired mod, install the mod, play. :wink:

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:23 am

If the MOD was made compulsory.. I am sure it can't be the only reason. Since it would be relatively easy to simply put the mod in with the download of the game so that everyone got it.. So it was kinda like the latest "version" of turbosliders.

User avatar
Whiplash
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 2325
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
Location: Bosnia

Post by Whiplash » Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:07 am

shyguy1001 wrote:If the MOD was made compulsory.. I am sure it can't be the only reason. Since it would be relatively easy to simply put the mod in with the download of the game so that everyone got it.. So it was kinda like the latest "version" of turbosliders.

Hmm... yes but... let's say it like this: Some people just prefer old school using of the game. MOD would give few more possibilities, but original game is original game. It all could go too far maybe (too big tracks, too slow loading, graphical problems, maybe even lag problems,). Also, all servers have to be edited. FC server, for example, could not be visited with the MOD.

But... Mike got one trick that you could use:

Mike Nike wrote:concerning the 4kx4k tracksize:

2kx2k isnt big enough to make a realistic track?

a trick could be (im not sure though): make your track (4kx4k) (of course you cant do that just in the editor...) and resize it to 2kx2k, then create cars of 50% length and 50% properties (not all properties) of their original ones. Then, use zoom like 1.4-2.0 in racing :P - then it could probably look more realistic/detailled.

He just forgot to mention 50% of all track tiles :P

User avatar
shyguy1001
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1111
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Post by shyguy1001 » Sun Feb 06, 2011 1:32 pm

Obviously that would decrease resolution too.. And be a lot of work. Hmmmmmm, I was just wondering why maybe it hasn't been done, if only for F1 or something cos the tracks all have to be compressed into that 2000x2000 space, and the creative possibilities of going higher would be great..

Post Reply