I can't read (and also write) masterserver

Discussion related to Turbo Sliders and beta version feedback.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Post Reply
lux2
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:22 pm
Location: Parma - Italy

I can't read (and also write) masterserver

Post by lux2 » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:41 pm

This thing is very strange.
I played TS on friday 23rd without any problem.
Then, nothing has changed in my pc.
I tried to play sunday evening and I could not retrieve servers from masterserver.
Now, I'm still not able to read from it.
I can ping it (both: IP and hostname - 74.86.232.128 turboserver.org) but it looks like there are not servers in it.

If I launch my own server, I can see it listed (the only one!) but I cannot see it in the serverlist page of the website.

This strange thing happens only with Win2k on my "work" pc.
Everything works ok with linux and XP on this machine and again with linux and XP on other machines.

Unfortunately, win2k is "my" OS at the moment.

Has something been changed in the masterserver? Any kind of "win2k connections piss off "?

Tijny
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Tijny » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:00 pm

Seems like a DNS problem to me, turboserver.org resolves to 216.172.104.3 here. Do you still have this in your hosts file? If not, it will fix itself in a little while.

lux2
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:22 pm
Location: Parma - Italy

Post by lux2 » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:30 pm

Yes, I had that one.
Now I commented that line and all works again.
Maybe masterserver changed its IP during weekend?
Who cares? Now everything works again :D

Tinky for president!
Thank you!!!

Tijny
Community User Level: 5
Community User Level: 5
Posts: 1514
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by Tijny » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:49 pm

lux2 wrote:Tinky for president!
Thank you!!!
Well, don't thank me too hard, because technically I was also the one who broke it for you. :P

lux2
Community User Level: 2
Community User Level: 2
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 7:22 pm
Location: Parma - Italy

Post by lux2 » Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:22 pm

Nah, it doesn't matter if first solution caused the second problem.
Two saves in a row around similar problems. This counts!

Post Reply