It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:13 am


Object doesn't want to show up in editor

Here you can post track-related information.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Object doesn't want to show up in editor

PostThu Aug 08, 2013 11:45 pm

Believe or not, I never tried to make my own tiles/ terrains before. :)
I just can't understand what I'm doing wrong. I can't see my object in the editor.

HERE are my files. You can delete my .til file and create your own.
Just create blank 640x400 sized track and make this object visible in the editor. Thanks!
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 1:08 pm

I think your problem is same as I had first. Pattern file must be paletted (indexed color) image. Like car mask files are.

tiles2.til wrote:TileDefinition specifies an image file and a pattern file.
The files are first searched in the same directory as where the
track file is, then from the data directory. Pattern file must be a
paletted image whose index specifies the corresponding terrain.
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 1:59 pm

Hmm, I'm not sure about that. Even without the correct pat, tile should still arrive in editor.
Can you use this 2 images and make it working for me? Just edit that pat image to have palleted color if it's not now already.
That pat is whole colored by:
red 126
green 179
blue 255
So, I don't know why it would make problems. Sure, it has a little bit darker edges, but that shouldn't make problems I guess.
Anyway, please, try to make it working. Put it on blank 640x400 sized track.
Offline
User avatar

Tijny

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 1514
  • Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
  • Location: Netherlands

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 2:15 pm

Whiplash wrote:fix this shit for me pl0x

The right question to ask would've been "How do I make this work?", which power79 already gave you the answer to. Telling people to solve your own problems is very rude.
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 2:27 pm

Whiplash wrote:Hmm, I'm not sure about that. Even without the correct pat, tile should still arrive in editor.

It doesn't. Like I said, I had same problem when I first made new tiles.

Can you use this 2 images and make it working for me? Just edit that pat image to have palleted color if it's not now already.
That pat is whole colored by:
red 126
green 179
blue 255
So, I don't know why it would make problems. Sure, it has a little bit darker edges, but that shouldn't make problems I guess.
Anyway, please, try to make it working. Put it on blank 640x400 sized track.

Just converting pattern file to paletted image does make tile visible but if you want terrain to work then you also have to create color palette where color indexes = TS terrain indexes (0=Null 1=Grass 2=Tarmac etc.) and use that palette for the pattern files. That's too much work with my shitty laptop that I am still using for the next week. I think you really need to learn that indexed color shit if you want to make new stuff for TS (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indexed_color. Good thing is that you have to make that palette only once and then you can use it for all your tiles. It is pretty simple to do with GIMP, don't know about photoshop or other programs.
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 2:33 pm

Tijny wrote:
Whiplash wrote:fix this shit for me pl0x

The right question to ask would've been "How do I make this work?", which power79 already gave you the answer to. Telling people to solve your own problems is very rude.

Wtf, I was already thinking you're dead. Damn, what a mistake! :twisted:
And you decided to show up in worst possible moment - to discourage power79 to help me like a man. :P
Last edited by Whiplash on Fri Aug 09, 2013 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Tijny

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 1514
  • Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
  • Location: Netherlands

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 2:37 pm

I was dead, but dede wished me back to life with the dragonballs.
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 3:45 pm

Ok. I changed image for you. Maybe this works. But you must use same terrain id(80) as in your example.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/mse0pv


Also you were missing one "End" in your tiles file:
3D_shit-tiles.til wrote:Include tiles2.til

TileDefinition 3d_object-pat.png 3d_object-img.png
Tile 5101 0 0 300 200 0 0 300 200
End

Terrain boxes
id 80
isWall 1
bounciness 0.1
red 126
green 179
blue 255
End
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 4:29 pm

Yeah, now it worked. Thanks.
Tell me what exactly you did to that image. How did you convert it?
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 4:42 pm

Well your pattern only had one terrain so I made a shortcut and copied one random palette and changed its 81th (index 80) color(RGB values) to match your terrain. Then I changed your image using that palette. With GIMP you transfer image to indexed by choosing Image-->Mode-->Indexed. Then from dialog choose "Use custom palette" (and choose the one that has right indexes) and uncheck "Remove unused colors from colormap" option.
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 4:48 pm

Right. And what if I want this image to be smaller on the track? Don't tell me I have to make new image for that?
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 6:00 pm

Whiplash wrote:Right. And what if I want this image to be smaller on the track? Don't tell me I have to make new image for that?

You don't have to draw new image but scale the old one and save. I don't think the game can do that (don't know why - seems simple).
With GIMP: Image-->Scale Image , choose new size.
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

PostFri Aug 09, 2013 6:10 pm

power79 wrote:I don't think the game can do that.

Pfff, ok. Thanks anyway.
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

PostSat Aug 10, 2013 3:31 am

I should add that you only need to change size of the pattern file. Tile image gets adjusted to that size by the game. Just remember to have same aspect ratio for both pattern and tile.

Return to Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron