It is currently Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:06 am


Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

Here you can post track-related information.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostThu May 01, 2014 11:01 am

I have a few questions:
- If I'm using .til file, does that mean I don't have to copy/paste those definitions to .trk file at all? Insted of that, I just need to put there one line like Include Track_Name.til? So, I'll not experience that copy/paste "bug" that dede mentioned in his tutorial?
- How do you guys make pit working? I have it like you all do:
Terrain Pit
id 77
isWall 0
viscosity 1.0
acceleration 0.5
braking 1.0
grip 2.0
steering 1.0
skidMark 1
tyreMark 0
red 110
green 110
blue 110
pit 1

But track still acts like there is no pit at all. I mean, the car slows down as it should, but fuel is disabled.
Offline
User avatar

Lanz

Community User Level: 4

Community User Level: 4

  • Posts: 821
  • Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:27 pm
  • Location: Innichen, Italy

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostThu May 01, 2014 3:48 pm

Whiplash wrote:I have a few questions:
- If I'm using .til file, does that mean I don't have to copy/paste those definitions to .trk file at all? Insted of that, I just need to put there one line like Include Track_Name.til? So, I'll not experience that copy/paste "bug" that dede mentioned in his tutorial?


yep!

Whiplash wrote:- How do you guys make pit working? I have it like you all do:
Terrain Pit
id 77
isWall 0
viscosity 1.0
acceleration 0.5
braking 1.0
grip 2.0
steering 1.0
skidMark 1
tyreMark 0
red 110
green 110
blue 110
pit 1

But track still acts like there is no pit at all. I mean, the car slows down as it should, but fuel is disabled.


did you defined the pit in the editor with f5?
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostThu May 01, 2014 11:04 pm

Lanz wrote:..did you defined the pit in the editor with f5?

How can I do it when it's always a box? You're telling me that pattern color only defines the speed of car there, not also the refueling area?
Offline

power79

Community User Level: 3

Community User Level: 3

  • Posts: 463
  • Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 11:10 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostThu May 01, 2014 11:28 pm

Whiplash wrote:
Lanz wrote:..did you defined the pit in the editor with f5?

How can I do it when it's always a box? You're telling me that pattern color only defines the speed of car there, not also the refueling area?


I found this text from README-fuel.txt:
UPDATE in version 1.0.8: It is possible to mark a terrain to be a pit
terrain by adding line "pit 1" to its definition. This changes the track
hash value, though, and players with version 1.0.7 do not recognize the
pit so using this is not recommended unless really needed. You must also
add a normal pit to the track so that the track is recognized to be
a pit track in fuel races. It can overlap with the pit terrain.


I think your custom pit terrain will work normally after you do that.

Edit: Or I guess you can just add line to trk file like this :
Code: Select all
Pit 296 1848 1209 1884
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostFri May 02, 2014 1:20 am

Oki doki. I'll try that as soon as I get some more enthusiasm for it. Now I'm tired of creative part of TS, and horny for some wanking and racing. :twisted:
Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Lanz

Community User Level: 4

Community User Level: 4

  • Posts: 821
  • Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:27 pm
  • Location: Innichen, Italy

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostFri May 02, 2014 6:33 pm

Whiplash wrote:
Lanz wrote:..did you defined the pit in the editor with f5?

How can I do it when it's always a box? You're telling me that pattern color only defines the speed of car there, not also the refueling area?



well even if you for example have 2 pits on the track and defined them both right a tiny little box over one of those is enough! check out pits from martinsville for example then you probs get what i mean!
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostWed Feb 18, 2015 9:32 pm

WTF have I done wrong now? Why my kerbs are so fucked up?
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostMon Jun 08, 2015 11:45 am

Whiplash wrote:WTF have I done wrong now? Why my kerbs are so fucked up?

Can somebody finally answer?
Offline
User avatar

Tijny

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 1514
  • Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
  • Location: Netherlands

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostMon Jun 08, 2015 12:40 pm

You used a BMP file for your screenshot, that's very wrong. Also you probably disabled anti-aliasing at some point.
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostMon Jun 08, 2015 2:08 pm

Tijny wrote:You used a BMP file for your screenshot, that's very wrong.

Yeah, I wanted a good quality. :P
Tijny wrote:Also you probably disabled anti-aliasing at some point.

Hmm, as I remember, dede's tutorial says so at some point too. I'll try to keep it checked in the new tests and see if it will help. Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostTue Jun 09, 2015 2:35 pm

Stupid shit. I can't overcome this problem after so many tests.
Offline
User avatar

Tijny

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 1514
  • Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:59 pm
  • Location: Netherlands

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostTue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Whiplash wrote:Stupid shit.

Did you mean "I suck."?
Offline
User avatar

Oompa

Community User Level: 2

Community User Level: 2

  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:37 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostSun Nov 01, 2015 12:56 pm

Could someone re-up a tutorial? X
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostSun Nov 01, 2015 1:21 pm

Yeah, I wanted to do it already and I somehow forgot. You can find it now in Download/Other section. :wink:
EDIT: ah, link doesn't work now. I'll fix it soon.
EDIT2: OK, fixed.
Offline
User avatar

Oompa

Community User Level: 2

Community User Level: 2

  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:37 pm
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostSun Nov 01, 2015 5:48 pm

Thanks a bunch. I hope this works!
Offline
User avatar

magnam

Community User Level: 1

Community User Level: 1

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostWed Apr 20, 2016 12:00 pm

i have done indexing colors,but the tree tiles i can still go trough, is there some other file i need to edit,except patern
Offline
User avatar

Whiplash

Community User Level: 5

Community User Level: 5

  • Posts: 2324
  • Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 4:57 pm
  • Location: Bosnia

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostWed Apr 20, 2016 5:50 pm

You can read details inside of "tiles2.til" file inside of "data" folder. And, here I made you an example:
Link

Have in mind that your .trk file will need the line "Include grm.til" so that editor and the game could read it. You can copy its text and paste it to some other .til file too.
ID number 912 is just a random free number that defines position of the tile inside of editor (you will press number 9 on keyboard to find it quickly).
Offline
User avatar

magnam

Community User Level: 1

Community User Level: 1

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:04 pm

Re: Making your own tracks with PhotoShop

PostThu Apr 21, 2016 10:07 am

ty whip
Previous

Return to Tracks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron